Ein kleiner unterschied auf deinem teller, ein grosser unterschied für den planeten

Herr Generalsekretär der Vereinten Nationen (UN), António Guterres

EIN KLEINER UNTERSCHIED AUF DEINEM TELLER
EIN GROSSER UNTERSCHIED FÜR DEN PLANETEN

Der Klimanotstand ist eine Realität, die die heutige Generation der Menschheit definieren wird. Er ist aber auch eine Gelegenheit, sich für ein gemeinsames Ziel zu vereinen, und zwar den Schutz der Natur und Ökosysteme, die die Lebensgrundlage bilden. Dies ist der Kampf Ihres und auch unseres Lebens.

Wie Sie im jüngsten UN-Bericht (2021) – „Frieden mit der Natur schließen“ – hervorgehoben haben, müssen wir dringend überdenken, wie wir Lebensmittel produzieren, und kollektiv mit den Ressourcen der Erde wie Wasser, Land und Ozeanen sorgsamer umgehen. Die Verantwortung für diesen Wandel kann aber nicht allein auf den Schultern abstrakter Gebilde wie Staaten oder Konzernen ruhen. Diese Verantwortung liegt aus unserer Sicht bei jedem von uns und kann durch kleine individuelle Veränderungen wahrgenommen werden.

Kleine Veränderungen auf unserem Teller können große Veränderungen für das Klima bedeuten.
Laut UN-Umweltprogramm, würde eine Änderung der Essgewohnheiten – insbesondere in den Industrieländern, wo ein hoher Konsum von Fleisch- und Milchprodukten herrscht, die unter intensivem Energie- und Wasserverbrauch hergestellt werden – den Druck auf die biologische Vielfalt und das Klimasystem verringern. Die Viehwirtschaft und der Verzehr von Lebensmitteln tierischen Ursprungs gehören, wie verschiedene Organisationen und Berichte deutlich gemacht haben, zu den Faktoren, die am meisten zu den Treibhausgasemissionen beitragen, wobei der Sektor schätzungsweise für mindestens 14 % der gesamten globalen Emissionen verantwortlich ist.

Dagegen ist eine pflanzenbasierte Ernährung eine der wirksamsten Möglichkeiten, unseren ökologischen Fußabdruck zu verkleinern. Eine Umstellung der menschlichen Ernährung auf überwiegend pflanzliches Eiweiß kann die globalen Treibhausgasemissionen um bis zu 20 % reduzieren und uns den im Pariser Abkommen festgelegten Zielen für nachhaltige Entwicklung näherbringen. Dies ist eine kostengünstige, hochwirksame Lösung, die für jeden möglich ist.

Wir möchten Sie daher herausfordern, mit persönlichem Beispiel voranzugehen und einen bedeutenden Schritt in Richtung einer pflanzlichen Ernährung zu machen. Diese kleine Aktion hat das Potenzial, große Wirkung zu erzielen und allen als Beispiel zu dienen, seien es unsere Enkelkinder, junge Menschen auf der ganzen Welt oder andere führende Politiker weltweit.

1 Making Peace with Nature, United Nations Environment Programme:  https://www.unep.org/resources/making-peace-nature

2 Ibidem.

3 Special Report – Climate Change and Land, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change: https://bit.ly/3eXQFFl

4 Livestocks Long Shadow, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations: http://www.fao.org/3/a0701e/a0701e00.htm

5 Food Planet Health – Healthy Diets from Sustainable Food Systems. EAT -Lancet Commission: https://eatforum.org/eat-lancet-commission/eat-lancet-commission-summary-report/

6 Making Peace with Nature, United Nations Environment Programme:  https://www.unep.org/resources/making-peace-nature

7 Special Report – Climate Change and Land, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change: https://bit.ly/3eXQFFl

PETITION UNTERSCHREIBEN!

Herr Generalsekretär der Vereinten Nationen (UN)

Wir fordern dich auf, eine pflanzliche Ernährung anzustreben, um den Klimawandel zu bekämpfen.

0 von 15.000 Unterschriften
7201 / 15.000
HILF MIT, DIE BOTSCHAFT ZU VERBREITEN:
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Um diese Petition mit dem Logo deiner Organisation zu unterstützen,wende dich an info@pleadforplanet.com.
Logos müssen Vektordateien oder hochwertige PNG-Dateien mit transparenten Hintergründen sein.

A Small Change in your Plate, a Big Step for the Planet

Mr. Secretary-General of the United Nations (UN)

A Small Change in your Plate
A Big Step for the Planet

Dear UN Secretary General, António Guterres,

Climate emergency is a reality that will define Humanity’s present generation. It is also an opportunity to come together around the common goal of preserving nature and the life-sustaining ecosystems of our Planet. This is the fight of your life, and ours too.

As you mentioned in the most recent UN report (2021)— “Making Peace with Nature —there is an urgent need to rethink the way we produce food, and to conduct a more thoughtful collective management of land resources, such as water, soils and the oceans. But the responsibility for this transformation cannot rest solely on the shoulders of abstract figures such as states or corporations. In our view, this responsibility rests with all of us and can be taken up by anyone, through small individual changes.

Small changes in our dish can mean big changes for the climate.

As noted by the UN Environment Program, changes in eating habits—especially in developed countries, where the consumption of meat and dairy products produced with intensive use of energy and water is high—would reduce the pressure on biodiversity and on the climate system. The livestock industry and the consumption of food of animal origin are — as highlighted by several entities and reports, , —among the factors that most contribute to the emission of greenhouse gases. It is estimated that this sector alone is responsible for at least 14% of total global emissions.

On the other hand, a plant-based diet is one of the most effective ways to mitigate our ecological footprint. A change in human diet, in the sense of including mostly plant-based protein, can reduce global greenhouse gas emissions by up to 20% and bring us closer to the Sustainable Development goals set out in the Paris Agreement. It is a low-cost, high-impact solution, accessible to one and all.

We would therefore like to challenge you to lead by your personal example, by accepting to take a significant step towards adopting a plant-based diet. This small action has the potential of making a huge difference and sets an example for everyone, be it our grandchildren, the youth from around the world, or other world leaders.

1 Making Peace with Nature, United Nations Environment Programme:  https://www.unep.org/resources/making-peace-nature

2 Ibidem.

3 Special Report – Climate Change and Land, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change: https://bit.ly/3eXQFFl

4 Livestocks Long Shadow, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations: http://www.fao.org/3/a0701e/a0701e00.htm

5 Food Planet Health – Healthy Diets from Sustainable Food Systems. EAT -Lancet Commission: https://eatforum.org/eat-lancet-commission/eat-lancet-commission-summary-report/

6 Making Peace with Nature, United Nations Environment Programme:  https://www.unep.org/resources/making-peace-nature

7 Special Report – Climate Change and Land, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change: https://bit.ly/3eXQFFl

JOIN THIS MOVEMENT!

To Mr. António Guterres, Secretary General of the United Nations (UN):

Challenging you to take a significant step towards adopting a plant-based diet, to tackle climate change.

0 of 15.000 signatures
7137 / 15.000
HELP SPREAD THE MESSAGE:
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Support this petition with your organisation's logo. Send it to: info@pleadforplanet.com.
Logos must be vector files or high quality png files with transparent backgrounds.