Un Petit Changement dans votre assiette, un Grand Pas pour la planète

Monsieur le Secrétaire général de l’Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU)

UN PETIT CHANGEMENT DANS VOTRE ASSIETTE
UN GRAND PAS POUR LA PLANÈTE

L’urgence climatique est une réalité qui va définir la génération actuelle de l’Humanité. C’est aussi l’occasion de s’unir autour de l’objectif commun de préserver la nature et les écosystèmes qui soutiennent la vie. Il s’agit de la bataille de votre vie, et de la nôtre aussi.

Comme vous l’avez mentionné dans le dernier rapport de l’ONU (2021) – « Faire la paix avec la nature” -, Il est urgent de repenser la façon dont nous produisons les aliments et de faire une gestion collective plus réfléchie des ressources de la Terre, telles que l’eau, les sols et les océans. Mais la responsabilité de cette transformation ne peut reposer uniquement sur les épaules de figures abstraites telles que les États ou les entreprises. Selon nous, cette responsabilité incombe à chacun d’entre nous et peut être assumée par de petits changements individuels.

De petits changements dans notre assiette peuvent signifier de grands changements pour le climat.

Comme l’indique le programme des Nations unies pour l’environnement, des changements dans les habitudes alimentaires – en particulier dans les pays développés, où la consommation de viande et de produits laitiers fabriqués à partir d’une utilisation intensive d’énergie et d’eau est élevée – réduiraient la pression sur la biodiversité et le système climatique. L’industrie de l’élevage et la consommation de denrées alimentaires d’origine animale sont, comme l’ont souligné plusieurs entités et rapports, parmi les facteurs qui contribuent le plus aux émissions de gaz à effet de serre, le secteur étant considéré comme responsable d’au moins 14 % du total des émissions mondiales.

D’autre part, un régime alimentaire à base de produits végétaux est l’un des moyens les plus efficaces d’atténuer notre empreinte écologique. Une transformation de l’alimentation humaine en vue d’inclure principalement des protéines d’origine végétale peut réduire les émissions mondiales de gaz à effet de serre jusqu’à 20 % et nous rapprocher des objectifs de développement durable définis dans l’Accord de Paris. Il s’agit d’une solution peu coûteuse, à fort impact et à la portée de tous.

Nous vous invitons ainsi à relever le défi de faire un geste individuel en adoptant une alimentation à base de produits végétaux. Cette petite action peut faire une énorme différence et servir d’exemple à tous, qu’il s’agisse de vos petits-enfants, des jeunes du monde entier ou des autres dirigeants mondiaux.

1 Making Peace with Nature, United Nations Environment Programme:  https://www.unep.org/resources/making-peace-nature

2 Ibidem.

3 Special Report – Climate Change and Land, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change: https://bit.ly/3eXQFFl

4 Livestocks Long Shadow, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations: http://www.fao.org/3/a0701e/a0701e00.htm

5 Food Planet Health – Healthy Diets from Sustainable Food Systems. EAT -Lancet Commission: https://eatforum.org/eat-lancet-commission/eat-lancet-commission-summary-report/

6 Making Peace with Nature, United Nations Environment Programme:  https://www.unep.org/resources/making-peace-nature

7 Special Report – Climate Change and Land, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change: https://bit.ly/3eXQFFl

SIGNEZ LA PETITION!

Monsieur le Secrétaire général de l’Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU), António Guterres:​

On vous défie d’adopter un régime alimentaire végétérien pour lutter contre le changement climatique.

Nous avons 0 des 15.000 signatures!
7201 / 15.000
AIDEZ À FAIRE PASSER LE MESSAGE:
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Soutenez cette pétition avec le logo de votre organisoation, contactez info@pleadforplanet.com.
Les lgos doivent être des fichiers vectoriels ou des fichiers png de haute qualité avec des fonds transparents.

A Small Change in your Plate, a Big Step for the Planet

Mr. Secretary-General of the United Nations (UN)

A Small Change in your Plate
A Big Step for the Planet

Dear UN Secretary General, António Guterres,

Climate emergency is a reality that will define Humanity’s present generation. It is also an opportunity to come together around the common goal of preserving nature and the life-sustaining ecosystems of our Planet. This is the fight of your life, and ours too.

As you mentioned in the most recent UN report (2021)— “Making Peace with Nature —there is an urgent need to rethink the way we produce food, and to conduct a more thoughtful collective management of land resources, such as water, soils and the oceans. But the responsibility for this transformation cannot rest solely on the shoulders of abstract figures such as states or corporations. In our view, this responsibility rests with all of us and can be taken up by anyone, through small individual changes.

Small changes in our dish can mean big changes for the climate.

As noted by the UN Environment Program, changes in eating habits—especially in developed countries, where the consumption of meat and dairy products produced with intensive use of energy and water is high—would reduce the pressure on biodiversity and on the climate system. The livestock industry and the consumption of food of animal origin are — as highlighted by several entities and reports, , —among the factors that most contribute to the emission of greenhouse gases. It is estimated that this sector alone is responsible for at least 14% of total global emissions.

On the other hand, a plant-based diet is one of the most effective ways to mitigate our ecological footprint. A change in human diet, in the sense of including mostly plant-based protein, can reduce global greenhouse gas emissions by up to 20% and bring us closer to the Sustainable Development goals set out in the Paris Agreement. It is a low-cost, high-impact solution, accessible to one and all.

We would therefore like to challenge you to lead by your personal example, by accepting to take a significant step towards adopting a plant-based diet. This small action has the potential of making a huge difference and sets an example for everyone, be it our grandchildren, the youth from around the world, or other world leaders.

1 Making Peace with Nature, United Nations Environment Programme:  https://www.unep.org/resources/making-peace-nature

2 Ibidem.

3 Special Report – Climate Change and Land, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change: https://bit.ly/3eXQFFl

4 Livestocks Long Shadow, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations: http://www.fao.org/3/a0701e/a0701e00.htm

5 Food Planet Health – Healthy Diets from Sustainable Food Systems. EAT -Lancet Commission: https://eatforum.org/eat-lancet-commission/eat-lancet-commission-summary-report/

6 Making Peace with Nature, United Nations Environment Programme:  https://www.unep.org/resources/making-peace-nature

7 Special Report – Climate Change and Land, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change: https://bit.ly/3eXQFFl

JOIN THIS MOVEMENT!

To Mr. António Guterres, Secretary General of the United Nations (UN):

Challenging you to take a significant step towards adopting a plant-based diet, to tackle climate change.

0 of 15.000 signatures
7137 / 15.000
HELP SPREAD THE MESSAGE:
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Support this petition with your organisation's logo. Send it to: info@pleadforplanet.com.
Logos must be vector files or high quality png files with transparent backgrounds.